Sunday, September 16th, 2012 09:52 am GMT -7 Sunday, September 16th, 2012 09:52 am GMT -7Sunday, September 16th, 2012 09:52 am GMT -7
 
United States flags on a green background

Looking to buy U.S.-made RC products? Start with this list.


 

 

 

Introduction

RCadvisor.com website member, Frank Geisler, has put together a list of American RC product companies. The spreadsheet that he sent me contains about 250 entries, which I find very impressive.

These are all companies that he believes manufacture at least one of their products here in the states. Some of these vendors also sell products that are made beyond our borders. If this is important to you, and it should be, please contact the individual vendor for more details about which specific products are made here.

I know that not all visitors to this website live in the United States. In fact, more than half are coming from other countries. This is all about cheering for the home team. My home team happens to be the United States. I was born in Puerto Rico, which is a territory of the United States.

If you live outside the United States, you have every right to want to encourage your fellow RC pilots to buy locally, too. If you send me a list of vendors that make products in the country where you live, I will be more than happy to post that list, too.

Looking over Frank’s list, I got a bit nostalgic. Many of these companies have been around for many years. They have just been chugging away, doing what they do best. At the same time, many on the list are new to me. I definitely plan to spend time visiting their websites. I hope you do the same.

I asked Frank to tell me a little about himself and his RC flying. This is what he said.

About Frank

“I am an avid RC pilot, USAF veteran, and AMA leader member who volunteers his free time to help promote the sport of model aviation. I have been building model airplanes since a child, but got interested in flying radio control airplanes in 2005. I enjoy building planes more than flying and am always looking for ways to help promote model aviation. I have flown everything from micro-helis to 50cc gas powered aerobatic airplanes.

One of my major accomplishments/achievements is the Wings Across America 2008 adventure and lately hosting a model airplane building clinic to provide guidance to newcomers on how to build model airplanes on the major RC forums.

My next clinic will be featuring building from plans. We plan to build the E-Quickie 200.”

Wings Across America 2008 (web)

Model Airplane Building Clinic on RCGroups Forum (web)

Model Airplane Building Clinic on WattFlyer Forum (web)

E-Quickie 200 (web)

Start of American-Made RC Product Manufacturers List

Balsa Kits/Planes
Aero Craft Limited www.aerocraftrc.com/
AEROLiteRC www.aeroliterc.com/
Aero-Werkes www.dpcmodels.homestead.com/
Aerodrome R/C www.aerodromerc.com/
Air Flair www.airflair.com/
Alien Aircraft Corp. www.alienaircraft.com/
Arizona Modelcrafters www.arizonamodels.com/
Balsa USA www.balsausa.com/
Blazing Wings www.blazingwings.com/
BlueJay Airplane Kits www.bridiairplanes.com/
BMJR Models www.bmjrmodels.com/
Bruce Tharpe Engineering www.btemodels.com/
BSD Micro RC www.bsdmicrorc.com/
Carden Aircraft www.carden-aircraft.com/
Dare Design and Engineering www.darehobby.com/
Diamond Dust RC www.diamonddustrc.com/
DJ Aerotech www.djaerotech.com/
Easy Built Models www.easybuiltmodels.com/
Electric Aero Modeling www.eam.net/
Electroflying Models www.electroflying.com/
Fly 2 Build www.fly2build.com/
Fun Aero R/C www.funaero.com/
G&L Hobbies www.glhobbies.com/
G & P Sales www.rcairplane.net/
Got Gas RC www.gotgasradiocontrol.com/
Guillow’s Models www.guillow.com/
Hobby Hangar www.hobbyhangar.com/
Hobby Lobby www.hobby-lobby.com/telemasters_216_ctg.htm
House of Balsa www.houseofbalsa.com/
Iron Bay Model Company www.ironbaymodelcompany.com/
Jtech Laser www.jtechlaser.com/
K&A Models www.kamodels.com/
Klarichkits www.klarichkits.com/
Laser Design Services www.store.laser-design-services.com/
Manzano Laser Works www.manzanolaser.com/
Meister Scale www.meister-scale.com/
Midwest Products www.midwestproducts.com/
Millennium RC www.millenniumrc.com/
Mountain Models/Laser Arts www.mountainmodels.com/
Ohio Model Products www.ohiomodelplanes.com/
Parkflyer Works www.park-flyer-works.com/
Pence Aviation www.penceaviation.com/
Precision Aviation Designs www.bobflies.com/
Proctor Enterprises www.proctor-enterprises.com/
Quality Fiberglass www.qualityfiberglass.net/
Radical RC www.radicalrc.com/
Savage Light Industries www.savagelight.com/
Scale Aero www.scaleaero.com/buyaero.htm
SIG Manufacturing www.sigmfg.com/
SkyBench Aerotech www.skybench.com/
SR Batteries www.srbatteries.com/kits.htm
Stevens AeroModel www.stevensaero.com/home.php
SwanysHouse www.swanyshouse.com/
T&J Models www.tnjmodels.rchomepage.com/
Team Duster Designs www.teamduster.com/
TMRC Sailplanes www.tmrcsailplanes.com/
Top-Flite www.top-flite.com/airplanes/gold-kits
Top Notch Products Co. www.topnotchkits.com/
Vintage Sailplaner www.vintagesailplaner.com/index.html
Warbird kits www.warbirdkits.com/
Wingspan Models www.wingspanmodels.com/
Yellow Aircraft International www.yellowaircraft.com/
Zeke’s Park Scale Models www.parkscalemodels.com/shop/
Foam Kits/Planes/Wings
2DogRC www.2dogrc.com
3D Foamy www.3dfoamy.com/
6mmFly RC www.6mmflyrc.com/
Airfoilz www.airfoilz.com/index.html
Alpha Foamies www.alphafoamies.com/
BMK Designs www.bmkdesigns.net/planes/
BSD Micro RC www.bsdmicrorc.com/
Charger RC www.chargerrc.com/
Dr Johns Laser Services www.drjohnslaser.com/
Dream-Flight www.dream-flight.com/
DW Foamie www.dwfoamies.com/
E-Foamie.com www.e-foamy.com/
Electronic Foam Models www.e-foamies.com/
Eureka Aircraft Co. www.eurekaaircraft.com/
Garrison Aerodrome R/C Models www.garrisonaerodrome.com/
Insane Foamies www.insanefoamies.com/
JK Aerotech www.jkaerotech.com/
Fancy Foam www.fancyfoam.com
Keith Sparks www.parkflyerplastics.com/
Kickass Aircraft www.kickassaircraft.com/
Leading Edge Gliders www.leadingedgegliders.com/
Model Aero www.modelaero.com/
Model Airplane Engineering www.m-a-e.com/
Mud Duck Inc. www.mudduckaviation.com/
Nico Hobbies www.nicohobbies.com/store/
Peck Polymers www.peck-polymers.com/
Polecat Aero www.polecataero.com/products
Rabid Models www.rabidmodels.com/
RC Plane Builders www.rcplanebuilder.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=16_42
RCPowers www.rcpowers.com/
RiteWingRC www.ritewingrc.com/
SpeedWings www.speedwing.net/index.php
SuperFly RC www.superflyrc.com/
Trick R/C www.zagi.com/
TufFlight www.tufflight.com/home.html
Twisted Hobbies www.twistedhobbys.com/Twisted_Hobbys.html
Wing Manufacturing www.wingmfg.com/
Wing Warrior www.hobbypeople.net
Wowplanes www.wowplanes.com/
YardBird RC www.yardbirdrc.com/
Combat Airplanes
TreneffRC www.treneffrc.com/
Autogyros/Helicopters/Multi-Rotor
Atlanta Hobby www.atlantahobby.com/Store/pc/Quad4-500mm-br-Frame-Kit-870p16285.htm
BlueSkyRC.com www.blueskyrc.com/
Flying Balsa www.flyingbalsa.com/Homepage
Hoverfly www.hoverflytech.com/
I2RC www.rc-tek.com/us_store/
Lite Machines www.litemachines.com/
RDLohr’s Clearly Superior Products www.rdlohr.com/
Airplane Parts and Pieces
APC Propellers www.apcprop.com/
Dave Brown Products www.dbproducts.com/
Dubro www.dubro.com/
E-Flightline www.e-flightline.com/
Ernst Mfg Inc. www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0002p?&M=ERN
Fiberglass Specialties www.fiberglassspecialtiesinc.com/
Gene Barton Machining www.genebarton.com/
Innov8tive Designs www.innov8tivedesigns.com/#P11
Keleo Creations www.keleo-creations.com/
Maiden Model Products www.maidenusammp.com/
Macs Products www.macspro.com/
Model Electronics Corp www.modelelectronicscorp.com/
Model Machining Service www.innerdemon.com/id48.html
Ohio Superstar Products www.ohiosuperstar.com/
Plane Fun Floats,,, www.planefunfloats.com/
Precision Fiberglass Products www.precision-fiberglass-prod.com/
RC Sky Diving www.rcskydiving.com/home.php?cat=426
RC Super Gear www.rcsupergear.com/
Sea Plane Supply www.seaplanesupply.com/
Shindin Machine www.shindinmachine.com/
Sierra Giant Scale www.sierragiant.com/
small parts CNC www.smallpartscnc.com
Solo Props www.soloprops.com/
Spring Air Products www.retracts.com/
Stan’s Fiber Tech www.stansfibertech.com/
Sullivan Products www.sullivanproducts.com/
TnT Landing Gear Products www.tntlandinggear.com/
White Rose Engineering www.whiteroseeng.com/
Williams Brothers Plastic Models www.williamsbrothersmodelproducts.com/
Windsor Propeller Company www.masterairscrew.com/
Zinger Props www.zingerpropeller.com/
Sailplanes
Pacific Glider Works www.pacificgliderworks.com/index.html
Pacific Sailplanes www.pacificsailplanes.com/
Zaerotech www.zaerotech.com/
Jets
Bob Violett Models www.bvmjets.com/
Century Jet Models Inc www.centuryjet.com./
Electric Jet Factory www.ejf.com/
Jet Hangar Hobbies www.jethangar.com/
Rich Uravitch www.richuravitch.com/
TeeRific Jet Models www.terrificjets.com/
Tom Cooks Jet Model Products www.jetmodelproducts.com/
Plans/Building Services/LASER Cutting
AK-Models www.ak-models.com/lasercutservices.htm
Alien Aircraft www.alien-aircraft.com/
AMA Plans Services www.modelaircraft.org/plans.aspx
A.R.D. www.ardmodels.com/
Bob Holman Plans www.bhplans.com/
Dynamic Balsa www.dbalsa.com/
JTECH Laser www.jtechlaser.com/
Kellogg Plans www.kelloggplans.com/
Laser Lizard www.laserlizard.com/
Lazer Works www.lazer-works.com/
Mark Rittinger Scale RC Plans www.markrittinger.com/
Mato www.matoonline.com/planeBuildingPrices.htm
Mud Duck Inc. www.mudduckaviation.com/
Nick Ziroli Plans www.ziroliplans.com/
Pat’s Custom Models www.patscustom-models.com
PawDell CNC Shop www.pawdell.com/
Precision Cut Kits www.precisioncutkits.com/
RC Aircraft Works www.rcaircraftworks.com/
Small Flying Arts www.smallflyingarts.com/
Hostetler Plans www.hostetlersplans.com/
Wings on the Web www.wingsontheweb.com/
Design Consulting Services
Carlos Reyes www.rcadvisor.com/
Batteries
Fromeco www.fromeco.org/
MaxAmps www.maxamps.com/
NueMotors www.neumotors.com/store/index.html
Thunder Power RC www.thunderpowerrc.com/index.html
Building Supplies
Bad Brad Graphics www.badbradgraphics.com/
Balsa Wood Inc www.balsawoodinc.com/
Beacons Adhesive www.beaconadhesives.com/
Custom Cut Graphix www.customcutgraphix.com/
Callie Graphics www.callie-graphics.com/
CFC Graphics www.cfcgraphics.com/
The Composite Store www.cstsales.com/
Get Stencils www.getstencils.com/
HandibondUSA www.handibond.com/
Kirby Kustom Graphics www.angelfire.com/oh2/kirbysgraphics/
Lonestar Balsa www.lonestar-balsa.com/
Mercury Adhesives www.mercuryadhesives.com/
Northeastern Scale Lumber www.northeasternscalelumber.com/
Pink-It www.pink-it.net/
Vinyl For RC www.vinylforrc.com/
Electronics
C-Tronics Inc. www.c-tronicsinc.com/
Canuck Engineering www.canuckengineering.com/
CamLight Systems www.camlight.com/
Castle Creations www.castlecreations.com/
Dave’s R/C Electronics www.wix.com/dianneanddavid/daves-r-c-electronics
Dimension Engineering www.dimensionengineering.com/
Eagle Tree Systems www.eagletreesystems.com/
ElectroDynamics www.electrodynam.com/
FMA Direct www.fmadirect.com/
Hansen Hobbies www.hansenhobbies.com/
KarglUSA www.karglusa.com/default.aspx
Kool Flight Systems www.koolflightsystems.com/
Medusa Research www.medusaproducts.com/
Tejera Microsystems Eng Inc www.tmenet.com/xtrema.htm
Winged Shadow www.wingedshadow.com/
York Electronics www.york-electronics.com/
Engines
Davis Diesel Development www.davisdieseldevelopment.com/
Desert Aircraft www.desertaircraft.com/
First Place Engines www.fpengines.com/
Fox Engines www.foxmanufacturing.com/
Jett Engineering www.jettengineering.com/
K&B Manufacturing www.mecoa.com/index1.htm
KME Engines www.kmeengines.com/
Syssa www.syssaaircraft.com/
Taurus Engines www.taurus-engines.com/
Motors
AstroFlight www.astroflight.com/
CustomCDrom www.customcdr.com/
MicroDan Brushless Motors www.gobrushless.com/shop/
Neu Motors www.neumotors.com
Strong RC Motors www.strongrcmotors.com/
Software
Knife Edge Software www.knifeedge.com/
Other
Ace Sim RC www.acesim.com/
Ace Wing Carriers www.acewingcarrier.com/index.html
Askman AP www.askmanap.com/
Gamecraft Miniatures http://www.gcmshop.com/gopro/
Lipo Locker www.lipolocker.com/
LiPoSack.com www.liposack.com/
Merlin Glow Plugs www.merlinglowplugs.com/
OneWinch www.gesswork.com/
Pilot Portraits www.mikebrentart.com/pilotportraits.html
Progressive R/C www.progressiverc.com/RCStyx.html
RCA Models www.shop.rcamodels.com/
Wild R/C Inc. www.wildrc.com/
Tools
Byrnes Model machines www.byrnesmodelmachines.com/
Preac Tool Co. www.preac.com/
Sherline Products www.sherline.com/
Taig Tools www.taigtools.com/
Vanda-Lay Industries www.vanda-layindustries.com
Repair Centers
Radio South www.radiosouthrc.com/
Ground Vehicles
Axon Racing Systems www.axonracing.com/catalog/
RC Product Designs www.rcproductdesigns.com/
Model Rockets
Aero-Tech Rocketry www.aerotech-rocketry.com/
Fliskits www.fliskits.com/
LOC Precision Rocketry www.locprecision.com/Home_Page.html
Madcow Rocketry www.madcowrocketry.com/servlet/StoreFront
Public Missiles Ltd. www.publicmissiles.com/
Sunward Rocketry www.sunward1.com/
Boats
Warehouse Hobbies www.whobbies.com/

© 2007-2016 RCadvisor.com | +Carlos Reyes | Contact | Terms | Privacy